Safety Gear

Best welding helmets, compared on what the makers actually publish

Six auto darkening welding helmets ranked on published safety standards, shade range, low amp tig rating, weight and warranty. One maker names no standard.

A welding helmet has one job before all others: darken to a safe shade the instant the arc strikes. Listings lead with view size and clarity (what those specs mean). We started with a plainer question.

Does the maker say, in writing, which safety standard the helmet meets? Seven of the eight helmets we checked do. Among those, the Hobart Inventor covers most home welding at the lowest price, and the Lincoln Viking 3350 and ESAB Sentinel A60 add range, tig sensitivity and longer support.

Eight helmets, as their makers describe them

All figures as published by each maker, checked 2026-09-19. “Not published” means we looked and the maker does not state it.

HelmetStandards namedDark shadesViewLowest tig ratingWeightWarranty
Hobart Inventor 770890ANSI Z87.1-2015, CSA Z94.3-15, EN 3799 to 139.3 sq inRated, no figure19.7 oz2 years
Lincoln VIKING 3350ANSI Z87.1, CSA Z94.35 to 1312.5 sq in2 A595 g5 years
ESAB Sentinel A60ANSI Z87.1+, CSA Z94.3, EN 379, EN 175 and others5 to 9 and 9 to 134.65 x 2.8 in3 A644 g3 years
Miller Digital Elite 4xANSI Z87.1+, CSA8 to 13, cut 5 to 89.2 sq in5 A and below20.5 to 21.4 oz4 years, lens
Lincoln VIKING 1740ANSI Z87.1, CSA Z94.39 to 136.3 sq in5 A528 g5 years
Jackson Insight 46131ANSI Z87.1, CSA Z94.39 to 139.3 sq in (page)5 A24 oz2 years
ESAB Savage A40EN 379, EN 175; “ANSI, CSA” without numbers9 to 133.93 x 1.96 in5 A490 to 500 g2 years
YesWelder LYG-M800HNot published5 to 9 and 9 to 133.93 x 3.66 inNot publishedNot published1 year

Sources: Hobart spec sheet; Lincoln 3350 product page and 1740 manual IM10726; ESAB Savage A40 fact sheet, A60 product page and manual; Miller spec sheet AY/43.0; Jackson manual; YesWelder product page.

What the columns mean for your eyes

Standards named. ANSI Z87.1 is the US eye and face protection standard, and a maker that names it is making a claim it can be held to. YesWelder’s page names none, which is why that helmet is mentioned and not ranked.

Dark shades. Set the shade from the welding helmet shade chart. A 9 to 13 range suits home mig, flux core and stick. Plasma cutting and low amp tig are where a lower range earns its place.

Lowest tig rating. A small tig arc can fail to trigger weaker sensors, and the lens stays light. For tig, this number matters more than view size. See tig welders explained.

Clarity ratings. Five of the eight print 1/1/1/1, and only ESAB ties that to EN 379. Treat an unsourced 1/1/1/1 as marketing until the maker names the standard.

Picking by the welding you do

Mig, flux core or stick at home, an hour or two at a time: the Hobart, or the Viking 1740 if the five year warranty matters more to you than view size. Tig, plasma cutting, or long sessions where view and headgear comfort add up: the Lincoln or the ESAB. Outdoor work where sensors get blocked: the Miller’s X-Mode is built for it.

What a helmet does not do

Wear safety glasses under it, and test that the lens darkens before every session. The full list of what it leaves open is in what a welding helmet does not protect against. A helmet reduces specific hazards. It does not make welding safe. The rest of the gear is in welding for beginners.

How we score

Every pick is scored on the same five criteria. We work from published specs, not from bench tests: every figure comes from the manufacturer’s manual, spec sheet or current listing at write time, with the model number and the date checked. We never estimate a number a manufacturer does not publish.

Specs published

Whether the manufacturer publishes what a buyer needs: duty cycle at a stated amperage, input amp draw, and the breaker the machine requires. A missing number costs points and is marked "Not published".

Arc time

Duty cycle (the share of a ten minute window a machine can weld before it must cool, rated at 104 F under IEC 60974-1) converted into minutes of arc per ten at a working amperage.

Build & parts

Wire drive, torch and leads, and whether consumables and spare parts are easy to buy. Owner reports are attributed to their source and never presented as our testing.

Power fit

Input voltage options and amp draw set against the circuits a home garage usually has. The work of adding a circuit belongs to a licensed electrician.

Value & warranty

What you get for the price, weighted by warranty length and how the brand handles service and parts.

Price bands, relative to the picks on this page: $ budget · $$ mid-range · $$$ premium · $$$$ top shelf. Amazon prices move constantly, so we show bands rather than dollar amounts; each button shows the live price.

Best for most home welders

Hobart Inventor 770890

★★★★★ 4.2 Our score $$$$

Specs published 4.0
Arc time 3.0
Build & parts 4.0
Power fit 5.0
Value 5.0
Hobart Inventor 770890

The lowest priced pick is also one of the clearest about safety standards. Hobart's manual names ANSI Z87.1-2015, CSA Z94.3-15 and EN 379, with editions, which the dearer helmets here do not all manage. The view is 9.3 square inches, there are four arc sensors, and at 19.7 ounces it is the lightest published weight in the group. Dark shades run 9 to 13 with a grind mode. There is no cut mode and no lighter shade range, and Hobart says it is low amp tig rated without publishing an amperage. No optical class is published. Two year warranty.

Pros

  • Standards named with editions: ANSI Z87.1-2015, CSA Z94.3-15, EN 379
  • 19.7 oz, the lightest published weight here
  • Maker sells cover lens kits, headgear and replacement lens cartridges

Cons

  • Shades 9 to 13 only, with no cut mode
  • No optical class and no tig amperage figure published
  • Two year warranty

Biggest view and longest warranty

Lincoln Electric VIKING 3350

★★★★★ 4.2 Our score $$$$

Specs published 4.0
Arc time 5.0
Build & parts 5.0
Power fit 4.0
Value 3.0
Lincoln Electric VIKING 3350

The 3350 has the largest published viewing area here, 12.5 square inches, a continuous 5 to 13 shade range with cut and grind modes, and the lowest tig rating in the group at 2 amps. Lincoln backs it for five years and sells every wear part, from cover lenses to three styles of headgear. It claims ANSI Z87.1 and CSA Z94.3 without stating editions, and a 1/1/1/1 clarity rating without naming the standard behind it. The linked listing is the All American graphic, K3175-4.

Pros

  • 12.5 sq in view; shades 5 to 13 with cut and grind modes
  • Tig rated to 2 amps, AC and DC
  • Five year warranty and a full parts list

Cons

  • Highest price band on this page
  • Lincoln's page and spec sheet give 22 oz and 21 oz for the same 595 g
  • Standard editions and the basis of the clarity rating not stated

Most complete published standards

ESAB Sentinel A60

★★★★★ 4.2 Our score $$$$

Specs published 5.0
Arc time 5.0
Build & parts 4.0
Power fit 4.0
Value 3.0
ESAB Sentinel A60

ESAB publishes more about compliance than anyone here: EN 379 with its edition for the 1/1/1/1 rating, EN 175, EN 166, CSA Z94.3, ANSI Z87.1+ and others. The view is 4.65 by 2.8 inches, shades run in two ranges from 5 up to 13 with an external grind button, and it is tig rated to 3 amps. Weight is 644 grams, about 1.4 pounds. The warranty is three years, excluding the battery.

Pros

  • Optical rating tied to EN 379, edition stated in the manual
  • Two shade ranges from 5 to 13; tig rated to 3 amps
  • Every part sold separately, including the shell

Cons

  • No cut mode is named; the low range covers those shades
  • ESAB's own pages conflict on battery count and range wording
  • No square inch viewing figure published

Most modes, and an honest clarity rating

Miller Digital Elite, ClearLight 4x

★★★★★ 3.8 Our score $$$$

Specs published 4.0
Arc time 4.0
Build & parts 4.0
Power fit 4.0
Value 3.0
Miller Digital Elite, ClearLight 4x

Four modes: weld at 8 to 13, cut at 5 to 8, grind at 2.5, and X-Mode, which senses the arc electromagnetically for outdoor or obstructed work. Miller's August 2026 spec sheet rates the lens 1/1/1/2 under EN 379, where rivals print 1/1/1/1 and mostly do not name a standard. We count the candor in its favor. The view is 9.2 square inches, tig rating is 5 amps and below, and the lens carries a four year warranty.

Pros

  • Separate weld, cut, grind and X-Mode settings
  • Optical rating tied to EN 379 and stated as 1/1/1/2
  • Four year lens warranty; parts sold by the maker

Cons

  • Top price band
  • Power source details not published for this model
  • Standard editions not stated

Five year warranty at a middle price

Lincoln Electric VIKING 1740 (K3282-4)

★★★★★ 4.0 Our score $$$$

Specs published 4.0
Arc time 3.0
Build & parts 5.0
Power fit 4.0
Value 4.0
Lincoln Electric VIKING 1740 (K3282-4)

The 3350's smaller sibling keeps Lincoln's five year warranty and full parts list at about a third of the price band. The manual's spec table names ANSI Z87.1 and CSA Z94.3, and the lens cartridge is marked Z87 W3/9-13. You give up view, 6.3 square inches, and sensors, two where the others have four. Shades run 9 to 13 from a light state of 3, with a grind setting and no cut mode, and tig is rated to 5 amps. It runs on two AAA batteries with solar assist and weighs 528 grams. K3282-4 is a new part number for a long-selling helmet, so this listing's review count is still low.

Pros

  • ANSI Z87.1 and CSA Z94.3 named in the manual; lens marked Z87
  • Five year warranty; cover lenses, headgear and cartridge sold separately
  • AAA batteries, replaceable anywhere

Cons

  • Two arc sensors and the smallest view here
  • No cut mode; manual and brochure disagree on the grind shade, 4 or 3
  • Standard editions not stated

Mid-priced, with documents that need a second look

Jackson Safety Insight 46131

★★★★★ 3.4 Our score $$$$

Specs published 3.0
Arc time 3.0
Build & parts 4.0
Power fit 3.0
Value 4.0
Jackson Safety Insight 46131

A long-running industrial helmet at a middle price. Shades run 9 to 13 from a light state of 4, with four sensors and a stated switching time of one ten-thousandth of a second, slower than the others here. It is rated for tig at 5 amps and up. Jackson's web page and manual differ on viewing dimensions, and the page lists cutting and torch modes that the manual cover does not show. The manual says the helmet is not for torch or plasma work unless it has the torch mode. At 24 ounces it is the heaviest here.

Pros

  • ANSI Z87.1 and CSA Z94.3 stated; lens marked W9-13
  • Two year warranty and a full parts list
  • Published battery life of 485 to 823 hours

Cons

  • Web page and manual disagree on view size and modes
  • Heaviest published weight, 24 oz
  • Slowest stated switching speed here

Also worth considering

Strong, well-reviewed products that just missed our ranked list - worth a look if the picks above aren't quite right for you.

  • YesWelder LYG-M800H - Very large view, two shade ranges and a low price, but the maker's product page names no safety standard. Check the lens and shell for a Z87.1 marking before use. One year warranty.
  • ESAB Savage A40 - A lighter, cheaper ESAB with four sensors and a 1/1/1/2 rating tied to EN 379. ESAB's fact sheets name EN 379 and EN 175 by number but say only ANSI and CSA, and ESAB's US product page for it is gone, so it may be on its way out.

Frequently asked questions

What should I look for in a welding helmet?

First, a named safety standard: ANSI Z87.1 in the US, with CSA Z94.3 in Canada. Then a dark shade range that covers your process, a low amp tig rating if you will tig weld, a weight you can wear for an hour, and a maker that sells replacement cover lenses and headgear. Viewing area and clarity ratings matter after those.

What does 1/1/1/1 mean on a welding helmet?

It is an optical rating from the European standard EN 379. The four numbers grade, in order, optical distortion, light scatter, evenness of shade across the lens, and how the shade holds at an angle. One is best and three is worst. Only ESAB and Miller tie their rating to EN 379 in the documents we read. Miller's own spec sheet rates its ClearLight 4x lens 1/1/1/2.

Is a cheap auto darkening helmet safe?

Price is not the test. The test is whether the maker states which safety standard the helmet meets and marks the lens accordingly. Hobart's Inventor is the lowest priced ranked pick and names ANSI Z87.1-2015 and CSA Z94.3-15 in its manual. If a product page names no standard, check the lens and shell for a Z87.1 marking before you use it, and return it if there is none.

How long does an auto darkening helmet last?

Warranties on the ranked helmets run from two to five years. ESAB's manual recommends a use period of five years. Cover lenses are consumables and should be replaced when pitted or scratched. Most helmets here use replaceable CR2450 coin cells with solar assist, so a dead battery does not end the helmet's life.

Disclosure: Rated Arc is reader-supported. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we would use ourselves, and product photos come from the retailer.