Power & Circuits

Plasma cutter air requirements: what size compressor you need

Published air needs for LOTOS, PrimeWeld, Hypertherm and other plasma cutters, in CFM at a stated pressure, and how to read a compressor label against them.

A plasma cutter needs two things from your garage: electricity and compressed air. Listings talk about the first and mumble about the second, and a compressor that cannot keep up is the most common reason a new cutter disappoints.

Compare two numbers that share a pressure: the air flow your cutter requires, in CFM at a stated PSI, and the air flow your compressor delivers at about that PSI. If the compressor’s figure is equal or higher, it can run the cutter continuously. Tank size only decides how long you can cut when it is lower.

What each maker publishes

Checked 2026-09-19 against each maker’s manual or product page. A flow figure without a pressure cannot be compared with a compressor label, so we mark it.

CutterAir flow as publishedPressure setting as publishedFilter or regulator
Hypertherm Powermax30 XP4 SCFM at 80 PSI recommended; 3.5 SCFM at 68 PSI minimumMaximum inlet 135 PSIInternal filter regulator
LOTOS LTP5505DCompressor greater than 4.0 SCFM at 65 PSI65 PSI on 220 V, 50 PSI on 110 VFront mounted, with gauge
LOTOS LTP5000D3.6 CFM at 65 PSI; compressor larger than 4.0 SCFM at 65 PSI60 to 70 PSI across the manualExternal
PrimeWeld CUT50D and CUT50DP5 CFM at 80 PSI in the features list; “5 L/min” in the spec table40 to 65, 40 to 75 and 75 PSI in three placesRegulator included
ARCCAPTAIN CUT50Compressor of at least 90 PSI and 5 CFM30 to 75 PSI, or 40 to 70 recommendedBuilt in, with gauge
YesWelder CUT-55DS PLUS6.0 CFM or more, no pressure stated50 to 60 PSI on 110 V, 55 to 70 on 220 V (page); 45 to 75 (manual)Rear mounted
YesWelder MCT-520 combo2.8 to 3.5 CFM, product page only45 to 70 PSI (page); 50 to 60 (setting chart)Not stated
Bestarc BTC500DP“150 L/min” printed in a row labelled CFM40 to 65 PSI (7GEN); ranges differ by generationBuilt in on the newest version
ARCCAPTAIN MIG205MP comboNot publishedTwo different maximums on consecutive manual pagesNot stated

Only Hypertherm, LOTOS and PrimeWeld print a flow figure with its pressure. Sources are listed on best plasma cutters and best multiprocess welders.

Reading your compressor’s label

Look for a line such as “5.1 SCFM at 90 PSI”. That is the pump’s delivery: the air it can supply continuously at that pressure.

  • Match the pressure before you compare. A compressor delivers more air at a lower pressure. A rating at 90 PSI is conservative against a cutter that wants its air at 65. A rating at 40 PSI tells you little about 80.
  • SCFM and CFM are close enough for this purpose. SCFM is flow corrected to standard conditions. We print whichever the maker uses.
  • Ignore horsepower and tank gallons as sizing figures. Horsepower is a marketing number on small compressors. The tank is a reservoir: a bigger one gives longer cuts from an undersized pump and longer waits afterward.
  • Leave margin. A pump running flat out the whole time makes more heat and more water.

When the compressor is too small

You will see the cutter start cleanly, then the arc sputter, the cut widen and go ragged, and on some machines a low pressure light. Stop, let the tank refill and continue. It works for trimming and short cuts. It does not work for slicing a long piece of plate.

Wet air costs you consumables

Compressing air squeezes water out of it, and warm humid days make more. Water and compressor oil in the line erode the electrode and nozzle and roughen the cut. Drain the tank regularly, keep the filter bowl at the cutter empty, and run a length of hose so the air cools and drops its water before the final filter. How a cutter uses its air is explained in plasma cutters explained.

Then check the circuit

Air is half the question. A compressor and a plasma cutter running together are two large loads, and on 120 volts the cutters here that publish a figure list 38 to 45 amps of input by themselves. The compressor needs its own circuit. See welder amp draw for the arithmetic and can my panel handle a welder for what to gather before calling a licensed electrician.

Next step Best plasma cutters for a home shop, by clean cut, air and circuit

Frequently asked questions

Can a pancake compressor run a plasma cutter?

For short cuts, often. Small compressors typically deliver less air than these cutters ask for, so the tank supplies the difference until it runs down, then the cut starves. Check the delivery figure on the compressor's label, in CFM or SCFM at a stated pressure, against the cutter's requirement. If the compressor's number is lower, expect to cut in short bursts and wait.

How many CFM does a plasma cutter need?

The makers that publish a flow figure for 50 amp class machines ask for roughly 4 to 6 CFM: LOTOS says more than 4.0 SCFM at 65 PSI, Hypertherm 4 SCFM at 80 PSI for its 30 amp machine, PrimeWeld 5 CFM at 80 PSI, ArcCaptain a compressor of at least 5 CFM at 90 PSI, and YesWelder 6.0 CFM or more with no pressure stated.

Do I need an air dryer for a plasma cutter?

You need dry, clean air, and how you get it depends on your climate and compressor. Most of these cutters include a filter regulator that traps some water and oil. In humid conditions a compressor makes a lot of water, and an extra filter or desiccant dryer near the cutter is common practice. Wet air shortens consumable life and roughens the cut, and makers say so in their manuals.

What pressure should I set?

The pressure your cutter's manual gives, measured at the cutter while air is flowing. Recommended settings here run from about 50 to 80 PSI, and they change with input voltage on some machines. Several makers print different ranges in different documents, so use the manual and start in the middle of its range.

Disclosure: Rated Arc is reader-supported. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we would use ourselves, and product photos come from the retailer.